COURTENEY COX NOT RETURNING TO ‘SCREAM’ FRANCHISE

20130417-160214.jpg

Earlier this month Courteney Cox had some time to kill before ‘Cougar Town’ aired on TBS and took to Twitter for a Q&A.

Seeing this in his feed peeked our chief blogger’s interests and of course Rick had to ask a question. It’s no secret that we’re huge fans of the ‘SCREAM’ franchise, so Rick asked when fans could see Courteney as Gale Weathers next.

The answer he got surprised us to say the least, as Courteney revealed that a ‘SCREAM 5’ is not in her future.

For those that are unaware, Courteney’s character (Gale Weathers) along with Neve Campbell (Sidney Prescott) and David Arquette (Sheriff Dewey) are the only remaining survivors of the franchise. The ‘SCREAM 5’ could look very different if Gale Weathers isn’t around with her quick and feisty attitude.

Of course things could work out and Courteney may be part of the film, but we have to ask. Would you still watch ‘SCREAM 5’ if Courteney Cox (Gale Weathers) isn’t involved? Let us know in the comments section below.

20130417-155050.jpg

 

Comments

  1. Gale is my favorite so I would only watch it to see what they did to her character to explain her absence.

  2. If Gale is not in Scream 5 I couldn’t watch. She is my favourite and I love her so much. She’s funny and brilliant and I like the Gale/Dewey relationship stuff. Courteney Cox is a brilliant actress and i’d be heart broken if she wasn’t in all movies or if they killed her off or made her the killer, urgh I’d just HATE if any of these happened!!

  3. She most likely doesn’t want to work with her ex-husband

  4. I simply love Courteney too much. IDK if I could watch 5CREAM without her. It’s a good series but I just love Courteney too much to make it through a whole Scream without her quick wit.

  5. I don’t think I’d watch Scream 5 if Courteney didn’t return to the series. As the tritagonist, Gale Weathers-Riley keeps things moving in Scream. I really love the movies and only got into them because they were one of her three “big” roles on her Wikipedia page. It’s rare to find an actress who can go from comedic roles like Monica Geller-Bing and Jules Cobb-Ellis to the “bitch” role of Gale Weathers-Riley. I think Gale has had the most character development. She went from annoying news lady to experienced Ghostface hunter, and when she stopped shooting the killers in the third movie, I felt a bit let down. I love Neve Campbell as Sidney Prescott and find David Arquette as Sheriff Dwight “Dewey” Riley a great blend to keep everyone under control, but if Gale doesn’t appear, I think I’d lose interest. After so many great characters’ deaths (Tatum, Randy, Jennifer, etc.) and possible deaths (namely Kirby for me) I think Gale’s disappearance would be the final blow. I do understand her possible reasons though. Maybe she doesn’t want her young daughter to see “mommy and daddy” being chased and stabbed by a ghost or being together again (just a theory), or maybe she just feels it’s soon time to settle down? Whatever her reason is, I’m sure it’s a good one. And besides, as much as I love the Scream series, I’d hate to see it turned into a huge spoof like some of the older horror franchises. Overall, for me, I’m a Cox fan before I’m a Scream fan.

    If Courteney Cox ever sees this, I want her to know that I’m a huge fan of her and all of her roles. I hope she can continue with a few more Cougar Town seasons, and I hope she puts her needs first every once in a while. Monica, Gale, and Jules have all taught me great life lessons and I sometimes see them in myself. For someone like me who finds it hard to pick favorites of anything, I can definitely say she’s one of my favorite actresses. Don’t sweat the small stuff. Your true fans will remain loyal after the Scream Era.

    That’s my stance on the whole situation.

    Die-Hard Cox Fan Dylan

Leave a Reply

